Monday, August 27, 2012

Book Review on "Daughters of Lancaster County"

DaughtersofLancasterCounty The Daughters of Lancaster County (3 in 1)Another book review!!  Well I enjoy reading Amish fiction books for a couple of years now.  Most books that I have read were by the author Beverly Lewis. ( I have The Fiddler review on this blog also.)  I have decided to check out another author who writes Amish fiction, Wanda Brunstetter.  Her writing is similar to Beverly Lewis, ( which includes Bible Scripture, Amish language or Pennsylvania Dutch or German. 

Also her characters are personable and they draw you into the story.  I have read all 3 books from this series, "The Storekeeper's Daughter", The Quilter's Daughter",  and "The Bishop's Daughter".   These books in this series correlate to each other and you must read the 1st book to get to know the characters and what is taking place. 

This series starts out with an dysfunctional family, lost in the death of their mother.  It seems that all is lost with their family and while the family tries to move passed their mother's death, it seems as though there is trouble on every corner.

The several characters in this series, faith is tested and must rely on the Good Lord to get them passed all of the hurt and trouble that they have faced.  Many characters in this series bring hope to each other, but to the reader as well.

I have read the book 1 and book 2 within a week, that I have received them from the library.  When it was time to get the 3rd book, it was checked out.  But one thing I can tell you is that once that 3rd book was checked back in, I quickly got it and read it in 2 days. 

This is a must read series, and I am ready to read another series from this author.

Friday, June 8, 2012

First Book Review :)

"The Fiddler" by Beverly Lewis

An unsure direction we make in life, may lead us to the location where God want us to be. This is true for both main characters in the story, “The Fiddler” by Beverly Lewis. For those whom have not read any books by Beverly Lewis, her books are filled with not only Amish heritage, but mystery, true romance, and unforgettable characters.
In this story, the two main characters, Amelia Devries and Michael Hostetler are both finding their purpose in life. They both make unsure choices to figure out themselves. Both Amelia and Michael are coming from different religious backgrounds and cultures, but both seemed to struggle with handling expectations within their family. Following their own heart and putting their faith in God, Amelia and Michael are able to become comfortable in who they truly are.
I enjoy reading this book. Actually, all the books that I have read written by Beverly Lewis, I enjoyed. I first got sucked in the Amish culture, by watching documentaries on television, and I saw a member in my church reading one of her books, I had to run to the library. My first series (most books by Beverly Lewis are written in series, so you get really involved and attached to the characters) was “The Heritage of Lancaster County”. The characters seemed so personable, and I fell in love with her writing.
Not many people understand the Amish culture and the strict ordinances that they follow, but once you read one book by Beverly Lewis, you will see another view of the Amish culture. For those who either play the violin or love music, this book is for you, since the main character, Amelia is a violinist. If this review is not drawing you to this book, I say those who love true romance (not the sexual, risqué type) and enjoy reading about other cultures, this book is a must read.